2020 Affordable Housing Advisory Council Appointments

September 30, 2019

The Federal Home Loan Bank’s Board of Directors has appointed two new members to the FHLB's Affordable Housing Advisory Council and reappointed one current member of the Advisory Council. The 13-member Advisory Council provides guidance to the FHLB on affordable housing and economic development needs within the Fifth District states of Kentucky, Ohio and Tennessee.


Stacey C. Epperson, President & CEO, Next Step Network in Louisville, Ky. Ms. Epperson founded Next Step Network in 2011. Next Step is wholly dedicated to building relationships between the factory-built housing industry, housing developers, affordable housing advocates, lenders and other key stakeholders to deliver factory-built homes as a viable, sustainable homeownership solution. Prior to her current position, she served as President & CEO of Frontier Housing, a nonprofit housing organization based in eastern Kentucky. Ms. Epperson previously served on the Council from 2006 until 2014. She will serve a three-year term, commencing on January 1, 2020.

Dwayne Spencer, President & CEO, Habitat for Humanity of Greater Memphis in Memphis, Tenn. Mr. Spencer has served in this role for 18 years. Memphis Habitat was founded in 1983 with the mission to bring decent, affordable housing to the city of Memphis. Since its inception, they have built more than 500 homes and repaired more than 1,000 in Greater Memphis. H will serve the remainder of a vacated term, which commenced January 1, 2018 and expires on December 31, 2020.


Danny Herron (AHAC Chair), President & CEO, Habitat for Humanity of Greater Nashville in Nashville, Tenn. Habitat of Greater Nashville serves Davidson, Wilson, Dickson and Cheatham counties. Since being established in 1985, Habitat of Greater Nashville has built or recycled more than 1,185 homes, 865 locally, and served more than 3,050 family members including 1,961 children. He will serve a third and final three-year term, commencing on January 1, 2020.

On behalf of the Board of Directors and FHLB staff, congratulations to the new and returning members of the Advisory Council. The FHLB also thanks departing member David Kreher for his years of service to the Advisory Council and the affordable housing mission of the FHLB.